Monday, April 22, 2013

So it's Been a While

I can't say I have a solid excuse either. I was working on a post a few months ago, shortly after I wrote about adopting Tybee but it was a "I hate work and I hate my life" post. Suppose I just needed to purge by writing that all out to get it outta my system. I was still having a difficult time with work, weather it was not really knowing the people or feeling like I wasn't fitting in or that I was still fighting the ridiculous charting system. Mom at one point told me I needed to adjust my attitude about it and stop talking about how much I hated going into work. She was right (as moms always are). I have a job and I love the essence of what I do, caring for people. I really don't hate my job, I guess I just really really missed my co-workers and my comfortable and familiar way of working in the South. As my preceptor told me one day, I know what I'm doing, I just need to learn how to do it the "Beaumont way." And these 12 hour shifts are still a drag for me. I'm challenging myself this scheduling period and trying out 4 nights in a row. I hope I survive. A stretch of 12 hour nights is not the same as a stretch of 8 hour nights. I think I will always miss my 7on/7off scheduling. That really was the bomb. And I'll always miss my 5 West home like crazy.

But like I said, despite the hours, work is improving for me. Hence, since I never got around to posting that "I hate my job" mock-up, I've dropped the negative "I hate going into work" mindset (at least I try not to) and I've finally settled into somewhat of a routine when I'm on the floor. I'm starting to blend in with my co-workers, some of them I get along with great, a lot of young new nurses mixed in with the seasoned Phillapino nurses. Just like when I started nursing in the South, I'm to the point where I'm in-between the seasoned nurses and the new nurses again that I feel comfortable and confident. One of our unit secretaries the other night asked me if I was in training yet to be charge. I was slightly panicked and surprised but at the same time I am looking forward to that experience. I really did enjoy charging. My clinical nurse specialist is also putting my name in for preceptorship to work one-on-one with a senior nursing student. Another thing I've looked forward to since becoming an RN. In February  I had a second interview at Children's Hospital in Detroit. It seemed promising but they ended up hiring more experienced nurses. And Beaumont requires 12 months or manager's approval before transferring  Since so many nurses were transferring already, I've reconciled myself to sucking-it-up till November before re-entertaining the idea of moving to pediatrics. Like I've said before, God must have put me here for a reason.

Last month I completed ACLS. I was dreading it since it focused so much on reading heart rhythms and dosing out cardiac medications. Neither of which were my strong suits and after the critical care courses in December, I really was worrying about my ability to understand the coursework. So I studied the book like crazy, took the pre-exam several times and slowly but surely, it started to click. I was so excited when the instructor handed me the certification card and said I got a 100% on the written exam. I'm still proving them wrong. That was a much needed confidence boost.

Speaking of Tybee earlier, he sure is a growin' boy! When I brought him home on Christmas eve the little fluff ball only weighted 12 pounds. Last week he got his second hair cut and we were all convinced that we lost half of our little pup in hair. The next day he weighted in at 47.1 pounds. Mom and I both went, "where?!" He's successfully passed the beginning course of obedience school with flying colors and I'm looking forward to starting the intermediate class with him in the next two months. He did very well mastering "sit," "stay," "shake," "leave it," and "take a break" but we're still battling "no bark" and "no jump." He's a very active and vocal little boy. He turned 6 months this week! His favorite things are chewing on shoes, chewing on wooden furniture legs, laying on top of mom, barking at dad, and watching for his momma at the door when I'm coming home from work in the morning. The funniest things are when he lays, he lays on his back, spread eagle, and he'll do anything if you pick up the bottle of treats.

I'm so looking forward to the warmer weather (I have faith it is coming!) and spending more time outside with him and hopefully getting him a little bit more acquainted with his cousin Ernie. There are a lot of fun things and adventures I feel are coming this season and I'm hoping to be more upbeat and entertaining as summer comes into full swing. Please stay tuned and I promise (I'll try) not to disappoint!




No comments:

Post a Comment